Openpath

Comparisons · Local business data APIs · read on October 15, 2026

Foursquare Places API vs Outscraper for AI agents

Foursquare Places API is Foursquare's pay-as-you-go API for searching and reading point-of-interest data from its global places database. Outscraper is a third-party service and API that scrapes Google Maps places in bulk and returns them as structured records.

The short answer

  • Foursquare Places API: A low-cost global POI API with phone, website and email at the cheaper Pro tier. Good for place lookup and matching where Google-style display rules are too tight.
  • Outscraper: Bulk extraction of Google Maps business lists, such as lead lists.

Side by side

Foursquare Places APIOutscraper
SearchesPOIs worldwide: Place Search, Place Details, Autocomplete, Place Match, Tips and Photos.Google Maps places by query (for example "restaurants brooklyn usa") or by place ID, plus reviews and photos.
ReturnsJSON place records. Pro fields include fsq_place_id, name, coordinates, address, categories, chains, tel, website, email and social handles. Premium fields add hours, rating, price, photos, tips and popularity.JSON (exports also in CSV, Excel and Parquet) with fields such as name, site, phone, address, rating, hours and, with enrichments, emails and social links.
Before the first callA Foursquare developer account and a Service API key. Usage beyond the free calls is paid through credits or a card on file.An Outscraper account and API key.
Free500 free Pro calls a month since June 1, 2026, by its docs; the pricing page also says “up to 10,000 free calls on Pro endpoints”Not stated on its pages
PaidPro endpoints: $15.00 per 1,000 calls (501 to 100,000), falling to $9.00 at volume. Premium endpoints: $18.75 per 1,000 (up to 100,000). Ask endpoints: $30 (Pro) or $36 (Premium) per 1,000.Not stated on its pages
Acting on a resultPhone (tel), website and email are Pro fields. There is no way to message a business through the API.Records include the business phone and website from Google Maps, and enrichments can add emails. There is no messaging through Outscraper.
Limits on keeping or showing resultsThe Developer Master Terms forbid creating derivative works of the service or its underlying data. They also treat place data as Foursquare Confidential Information, even where the facts are public. No specific cache period was found.Not stated on its pages
AI in its termsThe terms forbid accessing the service "to develop or improve any point-of-interest or venue dataset, algorithm, or machine learning operation(s)." The product page markets the API for AI agents through MCP.Not stated on its pages
CoverageFoursquare says 100M+ POI across 200+ countries.Not stated on its pages
MCP serverfoursquare/foursquare-places-mcp on GitHub (https://github.com/foursquare/foursquare-places-mcp). The README says MCP is currently supported for local use only.outscraper/outscraper-mcp-server on GitHub (https://github.com/outscraper/outscraper-mcp-server), run with npx -y outscraper-mcp and OUTSCRAPER_API_KEY.

Where Openpath fits

If the agent needs a local business to message in Austin, Texas, Openpath returns the listings themselves, free and with no key. See Openpath vs Foursquare Places API and Openpath vs Outscraper.

Questions people ask

What do I need before I can use Foursquare Places API?

A Foursquare developer account and a Service API key. Usage beyond the free calls is paid through credits or a card on file.

Is Foursquare Places API free?

500 free Pro calls a month since June 1, 2026, by its docs; the pricing page also says “up to 10,000 free calls on Pro endpoints”.

What do I need before I can use Outscraper?

An Outscraper account and API key.

Is Outscraper free?

Its pages listed no free use when we read them on October 15, 2026.

Sources

Every line about another company comes from its own pages. Prices and terms change, so check the source before you rely on one.

Foursquare Places API, read on October 15, 2026:

Outscraper, read on October 15, 2026: