Openpath

Comparisons · Product search APIs · read on October 15, 2026

Shopify Global Catalog vs Best Buy Products API for AI agents

Shopify Global Catalog is a set of Shopify MCP servers that let AI agents search products across all Shopify merchants (Global Catalog) or within one store (Storefront Catalog), with cart and checkout tools, built on the Universal Commerce Protocol (UCP). Best Buy Products API is Best Buy's REST API over its product catalog, past and present, alongside Stores, Categories, Reviews and Recommendations APIs.

The short answer

  • Shopify Global Catalog: AI agents that want to search many independent Shopify stores at once and hand the shopper a real merchant checkout link.
  • Best Buy Products API: Self-serve access to a large US electronics catalog with live prices and direct add-to-cart links.

Side by side

Shopify Global CatalogBest Buy Products API
SearchesProducts across the whole Shopify ecosystem by text, image or similar-product IDs, with filters such as price, shop, shipping and category; or one merchant's catalog at https://{storedomain}/api/ucp/mcp.Best Buy's catalog of over a million products, current and discontinued, with pricing, availability, specifications, descriptions and images.
ReturnsResults grouped by Universal Product ID with offers from multiple merchants; get_product returns pricing and the seller's checkout link for the chosen variant.Product records with sale and regular price, a BESTBUY.COM product page URL and an add-to-cart URL, plus specs and images.
Before the first callNo API key: every request must reference a hosted UCP agent profile. Higher limits and checkout completion need a credential from Shopify's Dev Dashboard (Token tier); anonymous traffic shares one limit and is not for production.A developer account and an API key, requested with an email address and activated from the emailed instructions; calls are limited per key.
FreeNo key needed, and its pages state no priceNot stated on its pages
Acting on a resultCheckout link to the merchant's own checkout (one per store); agents at the highest trust tier can complete checkout through the Checkout MCP.Buy link: each product has a BESTBUY.COM product URL and an addToCartUrl; checkout through the separate Commerce Gateway API needs Best Buy's pre-approval.
Limits on keeping or showing resultsNot stated on its pagesContent may be cached only temporarily, for no more than 72 hours, and only to speed up display; content must be attributed to Best Buy.
CoverageNot stated on its pagesBESTBUY.COM (United States); the Stores API covers stores in the US and Puerto Rico.
MCP serverOfficial Global Catalog MCP at https://catalog.shopify.com/api/ucp/mcp; per-store Storefront Catalog MCP at https://{storedomain}/api/ucp/mcp.No official server listed

Where Openpath fits

Openpath has no products listed yet. Sellers can list a product on Openpath today, free, and agents will find it through the same search as jobs and businesses. Get listed.

Questions people ask

What do I need before I can use Shopify Global Catalog?

No API key: every request must reference a hosted UCP agent profile. Higher limits and checkout completion need a credential from Shopify's Dev Dashboard (Token tier); anonymous traffic shares one limit and is not for production.

Is Shopify Global Catalog free?

No key needed, and its pages state no price.

What do I need before I can use Best Buy Products API?

A developer account and an API key, requested with an email address and activated from the emailed instructions; calls are limited per key.

Is Best Buy Products API free?

Its pages listed no free use when we read them on October 15, 2026.

Sources

Every line about another company comes from its own pages. Prices and terms change, so check the source before you rely on one.

Shopify Global Catalog, read on October 15, 2026:

Best Buy Products API, read on October 15, 2026: