Openpath

Comparisons · Car listing APIs · read on October 15, 2026

Auto.dev vs NHTSA vPIC: dealer listings with a free MCP or free VIN decoding, no key

Auto.dev is a REST API for active vehicle listings from US dealers, part of a wider set of automotive APIs (VIN decode, photos, specs, recalls, payments). NHTSA vPIC is a free US government API that decodes VINs and lists makes, models and manufacturers; it has no listings or prices.

The short answer

  • Auto.dev: Getting a small project or AI agent searching US dealer listings quickly, with a free tier and a ready-made MCP server.
  • NHTSA vPIC: Free, keyless VIN decoding to identify a vehicle's make, model, year and specs.

Side by side

Auto.devNHTSA vPIC
SearchesActive listings from US physical and online dealers, filtered by make, model, year, price, mileage, state, CPO status and ZIP plus distance.VIN decoding (single, partial and batch of up to 50) and lookups of makes, models, manufacturers and vehicle types.
ReturnsListing records with VIN, year, make, price, location and created/updated dates; the full field schema was collapsed in the public docs, so dealer contact fields could not be confirmed.Decoded vehicle attributes as key-value pairs in JSON, XML or CSV.
Before the first callAn Auto.dev account and API key from the dashboard; the free plan needs only email verification, no card.Nothing: no account, key or registration.
FreeFree plan with 1,000 API calls a month at 5 requests a second, no card required (listings capped at 20 per page).Free for public use with no registration; the FAQ says there is no daily limit, though traffic is rate-controlled automatically.
PaidGrowth plan $299 a month; Scale plan $599 a month.Not stated on its pages
Limits on keeping or showing resultsData is licensed solely for internal business purposes; no reselling or redistributing to third parties and no derivative databases or competing data products. No clause specifically on caching.Not stated on its pages
CoverageUnited States dealers.Vehicles whose manufacturers report data to NHTSA (US market).
MCP serverOfficial MCP server at https://mcp.auto.dev/mcp (OAuth sign-in or API key); listing search tool available on the free plan.No official server listed

Where Openpath fits

Openpath has no car listings yet. Cars are on its roadmap, from sellers and dealers who list them themselves. Get listed.

Questions people ask

What do I need before I can use Auto.dev?

An Auto.dev account and API key from the dashboard; the free plan needs only email verification, no card.

Is Auto.dev free?

Free plan with 1,000 API calls a month at 5 requests a second, no card required (listings capped at 20 per page).

What do I need before I can use NHTSA vPIC?

Nothing: no account, key or registration.

Is NHTSA vPIC free?

Free for public use with no registration; the FAQ says there is no daily limit, though traffic is rate-controlled automatically.

Sources

Every line about another company comes from its own pages. Prices and terms change, so check the source before you rely on one.

Auto.dev, read on October 15, 2026:

NHTSA vPIC, read on October 15, 2026: