Openpath

Comparisons · Car listing APIs · read on October 15, 2026

MarketCheck Cars API vs Auto.dev for AI agents

MarketCheck Cars API is a paid REST API of new, used and certified car listings collected from dealer and other source websites, plus dealer, VIN and market-statistics endpoints. Auto.dev is a REST API for active vehicle listings from US dealers, part of a wider set of automotive APIs (VIN decode, photos, specs, recalls, payments).

The short answer

  • MarketCheck Cars API: Searching current US dealer inventory at scale with price, mileage, photos and a link back to the dealer's listing page.
  • Auto.dev: Getting a small project or AI agent searching US dealer listings quickly, with a free tier and a ready-made MCP server.

Side by side

MarketCheck Cars APIAuto.dev
SearchesActive new, used and certified dealer listings in the US, recent dealer inventory (last 90 days) in the US and Canada, private-party and auction listings, and dealers by location.Active listings from US physical and online dealers, filtered by make, model, year, price, mileage, state, CPO status and ZIP plus distance.
ReturnsListing records with price, miles, seller name, seller type, photo URLs and a link to the original vehicle details page, plus specs and dealer details.Listing records with VIN, year, make, price, location and created/updated dates; the full field schema was collapsed in the public docs, so dealer contact fields could not be confirmed.
Before the first callA MarketCheck developer account and API key from the Developers Portal.An Auto.dev account and API key from the dashboard; the free plan needs only email verification, no card.
FreeFree plan at $0 a month with 500 calls a month and a 100-mile search radius limit.Free plan with 1,000 API calls a month at 5 requests a second, no card required (listings capped at 20 per page).
PaidBasic plan $299 a month plus per-call data fees (inventory search is $0.002 a call).Growth plan $299 a month; Scale plan $599 a month.
Acting on a resultEach listing carries the seller name and a link (vdp_url) to the vehicle details page on the source site; no dealer phone field is defined in the data definitions.Not stated on its pages
Limits on keeping or showing resultsNo caching, storing, indexing or persisting of substantial portions of the data; no independent or persistent datasets outside the service.Data is licensed solely for internal business purposes; no reselling or redistributing to third parties and no derivative databases or competing data products. No clause specifically on caching.
AI in its termsData may not be used to train, fine-tune or improve generalized ML or AI models, but may be used inside AI applications when accessed in real time.Not stated on its pages
CoverageUnited States for active inventory search; US and Canada for recent dealer, private-party and auction inventory; the MCP docs also list the UK.United States dealers.
MCP serverOfficial hosted MCP server at https://api.marketcheck.com/mcp?api_key=YOUR_API_KEY (needs an API key; covers US, Canada and UK).Official MCP server at https://mcp.auto.dev/mcp (OAuth sign-in or API key); listing search tool available on the free plan.

Where Openpath fits

Openpath has no car listings yet. Cars are on its roadmap, from sellers and dealers who list them themselves. Get listed.

Questions people ask

What do I need before I can use MarketCheck Cars API?

A MarketCheck developer account and API key from the Developers Portal.

Is MarketCheck Cars API free?

Free plan at $0 a month with 500 calls a month and a 100-mile search radius limit.

What do I need before I can use Auto.dev?

An Auto.dev account and API key from the dashboard; the free plan needs only email verification, no card.

Is Auto.dev free?

Free plan with 1,000 API calls a month at 5 requests a second, no card required (listings capped at 20 per page).

Sources

Every line about another company comes from its own pages. Prices and terms change, so check the source before you rely on one.

MarketCheck Cars API, read on October 15, 2026:

Auto.dev, read on October 15, 2026: