Openpath

Comparisons · Car listing APIs · read on October 15, 2026

MarketCheck Cars API vs eBay Browse API (vehicles) for AI agents

MarketCheck Cars API is a paid REST API of new, used and certified car listings collected from dealer and other source websites, plus dealer, VIN and market-statistics endpoints. eBay Browse API (vehicles) is eBay's Buy API for searching and reading eBay listings by keyword and category; the docs read today cover vehicle parts fitment but do not show a vehicle-specific listings guide.

The short answer

  • MarketCheck Cars API: Searching current US dealer inventory at scale with price, mileage, photos and a link back to the dealer's listing page.
  • eBay Browse API (vehicles): Approved eBay partners who want eBay listings, including Motors, in their own app.

Side by side

MarketCheck Cars APIeBay Browse API (vehicles)
SearchesActive new, used and certified dealer listings in the US, recent dealer inventory (last 90 days) in the US and Canada, private-party and auction listings, and dealers by location.eBay listings by keyword and category, with compatibility checks for parts against cars, trucks and motorcycles.
ReturnsListing records with price, miles, seller name, seller type, photo URLs and a link to the original vehicle details page, plus specs and dealer details.A subset of item details per search match, with full details from getItem.
Before the first callA MarketCheck developer account and API key from the Developers Portal.An eBay developer account and app keys; production use of Buy APIs requires applying through the eBay Partner Network, a business-model review and signed contracts with eBay.
FreeFree plan at $0 a month with 500 calls a month and a 100-mile search radius limit.Not stated on its pages
PaidBasic plan $299 a month plus per-call data fees (inventory search is $0.002 a call).Not stated on its pages
Acting on a resultEach listing carries the seller name and a link (vdp_url) to the vehicle details page on the source site; no dealer phone field is defined in the data definitions.Not stated on its pages
Limits on keeping or showing resultsNo caching, storing, indexing or persisting of substantial portions of the data; no independent or persistent datasets outside the service.Not stated on its pages
AI in its termsData may not be used to train, fine-tune or improve generalized ML or AI models, but may be used inside AI applications when accessed in real time.Not stated on its pages
CoverageUnited States for active inventory search; US and Canada for recent dealer, private-party and auction inventory; the MCP docs also list the UK.eBay marketplaces; vehicle compatibility attributes documented for the US marketplace.
MCP serverOfficial hosted MCP server at https://api.marketcheck.com/mcp?api_key=YOUR_API_KEY (needs an API key; covers US, Canada and UK).No official server listed

Where Openpath fits

Openpath has no car listings yet. Cars are on its roadmap, from sellers and dealers who list them themselves. Get listed.

Questions people ask

What do I need before I can use MarketCheck Cars API?

A MarketCheck developer account and API key from the Developers Portal.

Is MarketCheck Cars API free?

Free plan at $0 a month with 500 calls a month and a 100-mile search radius limit.

What do I need before I can use eBay Browse API (vehicles)?

An eBay developer account and app keys; production use of Buy APIs requires applying through the eBay Partner Network, a business-model review and signed contracts with eBay.

Is eBay Browse API (vehicles) free?

Its pages listed no free use when we read them on October 15, 2026.

Sources

Every line about another company comes from its own pages. Prices and terms change, so check the source before you rely on one.

MarketCheck Cars API, read on October 15, 2026:

eBay Browse API (vehicles), read on October 15, 2026: