Openpath

Comparisons · Car listing APIs · read on October 15, 2026

MarketCheck Cars API vs CarsXE for AI agents

MarketCheck Cars API is a paid REST API of new, used and certified car listings collected from dealer and other source websites, plus dealer, VIN and market-statistics endpoints. CarsXE is a vehicle data API for VIN specs, market value, history, recalls, plates and images; it has no cars-for-sale listings endpoint.

The short answer

  • MarketCheck Cars API: Searching current US dealer inventory at scale with price, mileage, photos and a link back to the dealer's listing page.
  • CarsXE: Looking up data about a specific vehicle (VIN, plate, value, recalls), not finding cars for sale.

Side by side

MarketCheck Cars APICarsXE
SearchesActive new, used and certified dealer listings in the US, recent dealer inventory (last 90 days) in the US and Canada, private-party and auction listings, and dealers by location.Vehicle data by VIN, plate or year/make/model; not listings for sale.
ReturnsListing records with price, miles, seller name, seller type, photo URLs and a link to the original vehicle details page, plus specs and dealer details.Specs, market values (wholesale and retail by condition tier), history, recalls, images and related vehicle data.
Before the first callA MarketCheck developer account and API key from the Developers Portal.A CarsXE account and API key.
FreeFree plan at $0 a month with 500 calls a month and a 100-mile search radius limit.Sandbox plan at $0 with up to 100 API calls for the life of the account.
PaidBasic plan $299 a month plus per-call data fees (inventory search is $0.002 a call).Starter plan $40.83 a month, billed annually; market value, history and lien checks are billed at overage rates.
Acting on a resultEach listing carries the seller name and a link (vdp_url) to the vehicle details page on the source site; no dealer phone field is defined in the data definitions.Not stated on its pages
Limits on keeping or showing resultsNo caching, storing, indexing or persisting of substantial portions of the data; no independent or persistent datasets outside the service.Not stated on its pages
AI in its termsData may not be used to train, fine-tune or improve generalized ML or AI models, but may be used inside AI applications when accessed in real time.Not stated on its pages
CoverageUnited States for active inventory search; US and Canada for recent dealer, private-party and auction inventory; the MCP docs also list the UK.Varies by endpoint; market values are strongest in the United States.
MCP serverOfficial hosted MCP server at https://api.marketcheck.com/mcp?api_key=YOUR_API_KEY (needs an API key; covers US, Canada and UK).Official hosted MCP server at https://mcp.carsxe.com/mcp (API key in an X-API-Key header).

Where Openpath fits

Openpath has no car listings yet. Cars are on its roadmap, from sellers and dealers who list them themselves. Get listed.

Questions people ask

What do I need before I can use MarketCheck Cars API?

A MarketCheck developer account and API key from the Developers Portal.

Is MarketCheck Cars API free?

Free plan at $0 a month with 500 calls a month and a 100-mile search radius limit.

What do I need before I can use CarsXE?

A CarsXE account and API key.

Is CarsXE free?

Sandbox plan at $0 with up to 100 API calls for the life of the account.

Sources

Every line about another company comes from its own pages. Prices and terms change, so check the source before you rely on one.

MarketCheck Cars API, read on October 15, 2026:

CarsXE, read on October 15, 2026: