Openpath

Comparisons · Car listing APIs · read on October 15, 2026

MarketCheck Cars API vs Vehicle Databases for AI agents

MarketCheck Cars API is a paid REST API of new, used and certified car listings collected from dealer and other source websites, plus dealer, VIN and market-statistics endpoints. Vehicle Databases is a set of 25+ vehicle data APIs (VIN decode, market value, history, sales and auction history, recalls); its Used Car API looks up past listings by VIN rather than searching cars for sale.

The short answer

  • MarketCheck Cars API: Searching current US dealer inventory at scale with price, mileage, photos and a link back to the dealer's listing page.
  • Vehicle Databases: Checking the past listing and sale history and value of a specific VIN.

Side by side

MarketCheck Cars APIVehicle Databases
SearchesActive new, used and certified dealer listings in the US, recent dealer inventory (last 90 days) in the US and Canada, private-party and auction listings, and dealers by location.Data for one vehicle by VIN (and year/make/model for market value); no search of current inventory by location or make.
ReturnsListing records with price, miles, seller name, seller type, photo URLs and a link to the original vehicle details page, plus specs and dealer details.For the Used Car API: previous listings, asking prices, mileage, listing dates, seller details and photos where available, plus market values.
Before the first callA MarketCheck developer account and API key from the Developers Portal.A free sign-up, which gives an API key and starter credits.
FreeFree plan at $0 a month with 500 calls a month and a 100-mile search radius limit.15 free credits and an API key on sign-up.
PaidBasic plan $299 a month plus per-call data fees (inventory search is $0.002 a call).Not stated on its pages
Acting on a resultEach listing carries the seller name and a link (vdp_url) to the vehicle details page on the source site; no dealer phone field is defined in the data definitions.Sales history records include seller type and seller details (such as dealer name), but these are past listings, not live offers.
Limits on keeping or showing resultsNo caching, storing, indexing or persisting of substantial portions of the data; no independent or persistent datasets outside the service.Not stated on its pages
AI in its termsData may not be used to train, fine-tune or improve generalized ML or AI models, but may be used inside AI applications when accessed in real time.Not stated on its pages
CoverageUnited States for active inventory search; US and Canada for recent dealer, private-party and auction inventory; the MCP docs also list the UK.United States.
MCP serverOfficial hosted MCP server at https://api.marketcheck.com/mcp?api_key=YOUR_API_KEY (needs an API key; covers US, Canada and UK).No official server listed

Where Openpath fits

Openpath has no car listings yet. Cars are on its roadmap, from sellers and dealers who list them themselves. Get listed.

Questions people ask

What do I need before I can use MarketCheck Cars API?

A MarketCheck developer account and API key from the Developers Portal.

Is MarketCheck Cars API free?

Free plan at $0 a month with 500 calls a month and a 100-mile search radius limit.

What do I need before I can use Vehicle Databases?

A free sign-up, which gives an API key and starter credits.

Is Vehicle Databases free?

15 free credits and an API key on sign-up.

Sources

Every line about another company comes from its own pages. Prices and terms change, so check the source before you rely on one.

MarketCheck Cars API, read on October 15, 2026:

Vehicle Databases, read on October 15, 2026: